

# Minutes of Special Council Meeting November 21, 2022 6:30 PM Nick Smith Centre – 77 James Street Arnprior, ON.

### **Council and Staff Attendance**

**Council Members Present:** 

Mayor Lisa McGee County Councillor Dan Lynch Councillor Lynn Grinstead Councillor Tom Burnette Councillor Chris Toner Councillor Chris Couper

Councillor Billy Denault

**Council Members Absent:** 

**Town Staff Present:** 

Maureen Spratt, Town Clerk
Kaila Zamojski, Deputy Clerk
Robin Paquette, CAO
Jennifer Morawiec, General Manager,
Client Services/ Treasurer
John Steckly, GM, Operations
Rick Desarmia, Fire Chief
Graeme Ivory, Recreation Director
Jennifer Eve, Manager of Finance
Emily Stovel, Manager of Culture,

Museum Curator

Led by Piper Bobby Smith and the Arnprior Fire Department Colour Party, Council Elect entered the Inaugural Meeting of Council

#### 1. Call to Order

The Town Clerk called the Inaugural Meeting of the 2022-2026 Term of Council to order at 6:30 pm and welcomed those present.

### 2. National Anthem

The CAO welcomed Paula Rich-McGowen, from the Arnprior Mainstreet School of Music, to lead in the singing of the National Anthem.

#### 3. Land Acknowledgement Statement

The CAO asked everyone to take a moment to acknowledge and show respect for the Indigenous Peoples as traditional stewards of the land we operate on, by stating:

I would like to begin by acknowledging that the land on which we work, and gather is the traditional unceded territory of the Anishinaabe People. This Algonquin Nation have lived on this land for thousands of years, long before the arrival of the European settlers, and we are grateful to have the opportunity to be present in this territory.

#### 4. Introduction of Council Elect - CAO

The CAO introduced Council Elect and congratulated each member on their election to office.

## 5. Administration of Declaration of Office and Oath of Allegiance

The CAO called upon the Town Clerk to administer the Declaration of Office and Oath of Allegiance to Members of Council Elect.

## **Minutes of Council Meeting**

The CAO called Council Elect to the podium, beginning With Mayor Elect McGee, followed by County Councillor Elect Lynch, Councillor Elect Grinstead, Councillor Elect Burnette, Councillor Elect Toner Councillor Elect Couper and Councillor Elect Denault. The Clerk administered the Declaration of Office and Oath of Allegiance to Council Elect, following which each member proceeded to take their seat at the Council Table.

### 6. Presentation of Chain of Office

The CAO presented the Chain of Office to Mayor McGee.

### 7. Mayor's Inaugural Address

Mayor McGee presented her Inaugural Address to Council, staff and the public.

## 8. Statement by Members of Council

County Councillor Lynch followed by Councillor(s) Grinstead, Burnette, Toner, Couper and Denault provided a brief address to Council, staff and the public.

### 17. Confirmatory By-Law

Resolution Number 333-22 Moved by Lynn Grinstead Seconded by Chris Toner

**That** By-law No. 7338-22 being a By-law to confirm the proceedings of the Special Inaugural Meeting of Council held on November 21, 2022 be and it is hereby enacted and passed.

**Resolution Carried** 

### 18. Adjournment

Resolution Number 334-22 Moved by Tom Burnette Seconded by Dan Lynch **That** this meeting of Council be adjourned at 7:05 p.m.

**Resolution Carried** 

**Signatures** 

Lisa McGee, Mayor

Maureen Spratt, Town Clerk

hand Small